skip to Main Content
Translate to:

Governor Announces More Appointments

RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will grow Virginia’s economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

Judy Napier, Commissioner

Judy Napier served most recently as Director of Business Development for the information technology firm CGI Group’s Virginia sector.  Before that she served as Assistant Secretary and Deputy Secretary of Technology in the administrations of Governors Mark Warner and Tim Kaine. Judy is a Portsmouth native and graduated from Old Dominion University.

Commonwealth Transportation Board

 John Malbon, Board Member

John Malbon is the President and CEO of PAPCO Inc., a Virginia Beach Oil Distribution Company that opened the region’s first public biodiesel pump in 2006. John is the co-chair of the Envision Virginia Beach 2040 Committee, which focuses on the 30-year future of the city, and serves as the vice chair of the board of directors for the Virginia Economic Development Partnership. John is a graduate of James Madison University.

Office of the Governor

Jamie Radice, Communications Director

Jamie Radice served previously as Senior Communications Adviser at the Export-Import Bank of the United States, Communications Director to Congresswoman Carol Shea-Porter and Press Secretary to U.S. Senator Christopher Dodd. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree from the University of California, Berkeley.

Darryl Holt, Special Assistant for Constituent Services

Darryl Holt served previously as an Office Assistant in the Richmond City Department of Social Services. She also served as a Field Representative in the Office of U.S. Senator Jim Webb, and a Special Assistant to the Virginia Secretary of Commerce and Trade under Governor Bob McDonnell.

Virginia Legislative Office

Maribel Ramos, Director

Maribel Ramos served previously as Legislative Assistant to Senator Tim Kaine, where she advised the Senator on policy areas including education, economic development, housing, federal employees and appropriations. Before that she served as a Legislative Assistant to Senator Jim Webb, and as a Special Assistant for Policy to then-Governor Tim Kaine. Maribel holds a Bachelor’s degree from Virginia Commonwealth University.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth

Denise Burch, Director of Gubernatorial Appointments

Denise Burch previously served as Director of Constituent Services and Scheduling to former two term Lieutenant Governor Bill Bolling.  Prior to this service, she served as Sen. Bolling’s Legislative Aide in the Virginia Senate.  In 1998, she was appointed as Confidential Assistant to Governor Jim Gilmore.

Lana Westfall, Executive Assistant to the Secretary of the Commonwealth

Lana Orme Westfall held the position of Director of Constituent and Legislative Services in both the Virginia Senate and House of Delegates for a total of 16 years.  In 2008, she established a government relations and issue advocacy firm, bringing a wide array of experience on issues related to the environment, education and veterans’ affairs.

Secretariat of Education

Jennie Moline O’Holleran, Deputy Secretary

Jennie Moline O’Holleran most recently served as Director of Virginia Relations at the George Washington University, where she worked with government and community leaders to promote GW’s Virginia Science and Technology Campus in Ashburn. She previously served in Governor Tim Kaine’s policy office. Jennie grew up in Alexandria. She received her Bachelor’s degree from the University of Virginia and her Master’s degree in Public Administration from the George Washington University.

Dietra Trent, Deputy Secretary

Dietra Trent served most recently as Deputy State Director in the Office of Senator Mark Warner. She previously served as Deputy Secretary of Education in Governor Tim Kaine’s administration, and as Director of Constituent Services and Director of the Council on Human Rights under Governor Mark Warner. Dr. Trent earned a bachelor’s degree in Sociology and Criminal Justice from Hampton University, and completed her master’s and doctoral degrees in Public Administration and Policy from Virginia Commonwealth University.

Secretariat of Technology

Anthony W. Fung, Deputy Secretary of Technology

Anthony Fung served previously as CEO of technology consulting firm GovInsight, LLC and as majority owner of Catapult Consultants, LLC, a firm that specializes in financial, acquisition, healthcare and information technology management. Anthony holds a Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Information Science from the University of Pittsburg.

Secretariat of Veterans Affairs and Homeland Security

John Newby, Deputy Secretary

John Newby previously served as a Captain in the U.S. Air Force, where he served as an aviator aboard the Boeing B-1B Lancer strategic bomber and as a special operations forward air controller in support of U.S. Army Special Operations Command.  Following his military service, Newby served as an attorney at private sector law firms and an international defense contractor.  He also served as a member of former Senator Jim Webb’s Service Academy Selection Board.  Newby graduated and received his commission from the U.S. Air Force Academy and earned his Juris Doctor from the University of Virginia School of Law.

Adam Thiel, Deputy Secretary

Adam Thiel has served as Fire Chief in the City of Alexandria since 2007. Previous to that, Adam served in a range of key positions at fire departments in Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina and Arizona. In 2002 Governor Mark Warner appointed Adam as the Executive Director of the Virginia Department of Fire Programs within the Secretariat of Public Safety. Adam holds undergraduate degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the University of Maryland University College. He holds a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from George Mason University.

Contacts: Office of the Governor: Rachel Thomas, (804) 225-4262

24 Jan 2014

Back To Top