skip to Main Content
Translate to:

Governor Announces Appointments and Reappointments of 17 Agency Heads

Today Governor Terry McAuliffe announced the appointments of Boyd Marcus and Jeffrey Painter to the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board and the reappointment of  17 agency heads across his administration. The appointees will join an administration focused on finding common ground on issues that will grow Virginia’s economy and create jobs across the Commonwealth.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

Boyd Marcus

From 1998-2001 Boyd Marcus served as Chief of Staff to Governor James Gilmore III.  In 2002, Marcus served as Chief of Staff to Congressman Eric Cantor. He also served asChief of Staff to Congressman Tom Bliley, 1981-1988. A native of Leesburg, Virginia, Boyd graduated from the University of Virginia in 1974.

Jeffrey Painter

Jeff Painter is a native of Page County and has over twenty years of senior executive leadership experience in the public and private sector.  His service includes: Executive Director of the Virginia League of Conservation Voters; Chief Administrative Officer of the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control Board; and owner of Property Partners, a small business managing and investing in vacation properties. Jeff graduated from Emory and Henry College.

Governor McAuliffe also announced today the reappointment of the following agency heads from across state government:

Randall Burdette, Executive Director of the Department of Aviation

Craig Burns, State Tax Commissioner, Department of Taxation

Colonel W. Steven Flaherty, Superintendent of Virginia State Police

Manju Ganeriwala, State Treasurer, Department of the Treasury

Richard Holcomb, Commission of the Department of Motor Vehicles

Raymond Hopkins, Commissioner of the Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired

Dennis Johnson, Director of the Division of Selected Agency Support Services in the Office of the Governor

Cynthia Jones, Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services

Ronald Lanier, Director of the Department for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

Samuel Nixon, Chief Information Officer, Virginia Information Technologies Agency

David Paylor, Director of the Department of Environmental Quality

James Rothrock, Commissioner of the Department for Aging and Rehabilitation Services

William Shelton, Director of the Department of Housing and Community Development

Richard Sliwoski, Director of the Department of General Services

Daniel Timberlake, Director of the Department of Planning and Budget

David Von Moll, State Comptroller, Department of Accounts

Sara Wilson, Director of the Department of Human Resource Management

Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy 804-225-4260

15 Jan 2014

Back To Top