skip to Main Content
Translate to:

The Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act

The Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act (Bay Act, or, CBPA) requirements are administered by 84 local governments in the eastern part of Virginia and include specific water quality protection provisions in local zoning, subdivision and other land use ordinances as well as comprehensive plans. The Bay Act provides a comprehensive, regulatory approach to addressing nonpoint source pollution that includes sound land use management, water quality protection, the protection of wetlands and other environmentally sensitive lands, preserving riparian buffers, maintaining septic systems, and improving development designs. Although the state provides regulatory oversight and assistance to localities subject to the Bay Act, local governments are responsible for implementation and funding of the program.

Eastern Shore Virginia Localities
Back To Top